Mediocrity

There are some words that just look and sound “UGH”!  (Or, is that just me?)  I hear words sometimes that just put a sour taste in my mouth.  “Mediocrity” is one of those words, yet when I look at how I’ve lived most of my life, mediocrity has probably characterized most of my endeavors.  The definition of mediocrity is, “Moderate to inferior in quality; ordinary.”  It is also used to describe something “lacking exceptional quality or ability”.  I don’t know about you, but that is NOT how I want to be described, yet most often I’ve made that definition very true in my life.

As we’ve entered into 2011, the excitement is high in the air as we’ve made new goals and set some lofty expectations for ourselves.  Now, when we’ve set the standard, living in mediocrity just won’t do.  In Ephesians 2:10, we are reminded, “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do”.  This tells me that we are not average, nor are we ordinary.  Why then, do we live like it?  I find that, for me, I live like it when I believe more in myself than in the power of God.  Let me explain…This past Sunday we (if you were there) experienced an undeniable glimpse of God’s power.  The reason I KNOW that is what it was is that I prayed prior to going to church, and even while there, that we would see His power right before our very eyes.  I expected it.  How many times do we desire to see His power, but there’s no expectation that we will?  How often to we lack the simple childlike faith to believe that He, indeed, will do what He says He will do?  God is soooooo not mediocre.  He has given us every example we need to see His power demonstrated.  He healed the lame, restored sight to the blind, raised the dead, but here we are living as those things happenED, and do not happEN!  When I think about how much time I’ve wasted not believing, I feel tired!  I don’t want to live that way anymore.  I wouldn’t paint a picture of that wasted time as gloom and doom.  In fact, going along my merry way was quite fun.  I’ve been doing what I want to do.  Giving just how much I want to give.  Living just like what would be convenient for me and MY schedule.

At LifeSong Church, we have an opportunity to change all of this mediocrity stuff…right here, right now!  If you attended this past Sunday, no doubt you left fired up, recharged, motivated.  Has the fire already dwindled a little?  Do you feel like you need to be surrounded by the electric atmosphere of corporate worship to believe God’s power?  Well, let me take some burden off of you…His power is alive and active everyday, Believer!  This year, we are challenging you with the slogan, “Momentum: Power Surge 2011”.  We are expecting God to do NOT a little, but a WHOLE LOT!!  Are you believing?  Do you desire it with everything you have?  Let me encourage you to believe it for yourself first!  We cannot depend on the belief of another, and if we try, we are missing out on all that God can offer us personally.  The thing is…we do need you!  We need you to believe that God has a whole lot He wants to give you and when others see you believe, it’s contagious!  People want what you want.  The things is, though, we don’t need your mediocrity.  We need your commitment.  Your word.  We don’t even need your money, but we need you to put your money where your mouth is.  If you cannot get on board the Momentum Train, you’ll just be dead weight.  If you can’t put your heart into where God has called you to serve, then you’re dead weight.  If you cannot commit to be where the action is, then you’re dead weight.  If you don’t show up to serve your time in KidzLife, or repeatedly miss your LifeGroup, or stay stuck in the shadows when God has asked you to serve, or maybe you show up to church two out of four Sundays, then you’ll become dead weight.  How?  You’ll be stuck doing what YOU want to do while the rest of us are surging ahead.  Don’t get left behind on God’s unmistakable power.  When it comes to the vision of LifeSong, we need you.  Momentum occurs as a chain reaction.  When we are all believing together in God’s mind blowing power, it catches on.  EVERY Sunday, we will experience the electric.  But get this…EVERY. SINGLE. DAY we will see what God will do with a heart totally devoted to Him.  That, my friends, is totally NOT mediocrity!  That is real LIVING!  And, THAT is a word that sounds mighty good!

2 thoughts on “Mediocrity

Leave a Reply

