Name Your Price

I love to go to yard sales.  Before I even knew what a yard sale was, I had very developed bargaining skills.  Growing up in Venezuela, I learned to wheel and deal to get the best price for just about anything you could possibly buy in a store, market or vendor. When I finally moved back to the States and learned that people actually sell their stuff every Saturday in their front yard and you could…BARGAIN…you can imagine that I found myself a new hobby! Now, if you know me personally, you know I can sniff out a deal!  Just yesterday, I got a new bathing suit top for $4.98!  OK…tangent!! Anyway, it makes my heart race and the adrenaline kicks in when I can save some pennies.  I say, “Give me the best for the cheapest price possible!”  My sister and I laugh over how neither of us can just graciously accept a compliment that someone likes our new shirt without having to tell them how very little we paid for it!

If you’re not being treated with love and respect, check your “Price Tag.” Perhaps you have marked yourself down. It’s “YOU” who… tells people what you’re worth by what you accept. Get off the “CLEARANCE RACK” and get behind the glass where they keep all the “VALUABLES.” Bottom line is, “VALUE”…… yourself more! 

I read these words yesterday as I scrolled through status updates on Facebook. I told my friend I was going to steal these words and she said she stole them from another friend! Ha!  Deep words, especially for women, I believe, as we seem very intent on finding our worth in what others say, if we feel/are pretty enough, or have popularity.

Aren’t we kind of like that with our lives?  Don’t we kind of try to sell ourselves for as little as possible?  We kind of let others determine our value.  It becomes that we think we are worth something if a man says we are, or if we have a ton of friends, or if we are skinny enough(and a whole lot of other reasons).We become cheap versions of what God wants us to be when we start looking to imperfect people to determine what we are supposed to be.

Where do you find your value?  Have you become satisfied just being on “clearance”?  Are you allowing others to determine your value? Do you know that God thinks you are worth it?

Today, my prayer is that you will know that you ARE worth it.  Don’t let life pass you by in allowing others to determine your value.  The only thing worth bargaining for is piece of jewelry at a Saturday yard sale.

6 thoughts on “Name Your Price

  1. Hi,
    Any idea who originally came up with that quote? Would like to give the person credit. I also read it several days ago on facebook and posted it on my wall. It’s a great quote.

    Sonia

Leave a Reply

