High Flyin’

Not only has my husband been away for the past week, but yesterday I sent my oldest daughter, McKenna, off to Student Life Camp Daytona for 5 days.  This is her first experience away at any overnight camp/trip.  Some asked me if I was nervous to let her go.  I wasn’t.  Part of it is just the fact that by McKenna’s age I had already traveled overseas, hopped airplanes by myself to fly to boarding school, and even flied back with my sister to the States without my parents.  It wasn’t even on my radar to be nervous to let her go.  An even bigger part of it, though,  is my heart’s desire to give my girls wings to soar, and sometimes that means that I have to let them fly on their own.  That part is a little harder to do because it entails a whole lot of trust – trust with spending money, with their actions when they are not under Mama’s gaze, that they’ll take the experience seriously, etc.  That part is harder, but for me, watching them go off to have life experiences is so much more rewarding.  There is a huge degree of watching your child have life experiences that involves watching them fail, or have difficulty in the process.  It’s hard to not take control.  Taking control may mean the difference between letting God do His thing, or Mama taking over when she needs to just be still!

As I sent McKenna off yesterday, my desire for her was not just this component of trust and responsibility, but it was also to encourage her to take this experience, which would certainly be a  spiritually high time in her life, to motivate her to fly high consistently.  We’ve probably all had a time in our lives that we have called a spiritual high.  You come back from a mission trip, conference or camp and feel like you can change the world.  Nothing can stop you.  Then you have a bad day…life gets in the way…and you feel like instead of you changing the world, the world has conquered you!  The thing is…you can totally change the world, but what do you do when the bad days come and life seems to swallow you up?

I wrote McKenna a series of letters to read while she is away, and what I wanted most for her to take away, and you today as you read this, is let Christ control every aspect of your life.  From the big to the small, fly high because your soaring with Him, not on your own.  I read this in my quiet time this morning….

“Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.” Romans 12:2 MSG
 

How easy is it when everyone else is feeling the spiritual high that we feel it, too?  There’s nothing wrong with that.  We are encouraged to spur one another on. But what happens when no one’s around to pump up the party with us anymore?  That’s where the encouragement of this verse kicks in.  God is calling you to be uniquely you.  He’s calling you in the little, everyday decisions and the big decisions of life to not be like everyone else because….here’s the kicker…you’re NOT like everyone else when you’re His child.  The pressures of this world are always vying for our attention, leading most times to our downfall if we allow it.  What I love about this verse is the word “develops”.  Developing is a process.  It takes time, discipline and intentionality.  Times like going away for youth camp or conferences contribute to the process of becoming set apart.  What about you?  Do you find yourself living for the Sunday to Sunday high? What I mean is, do you just look to have another spiritual, Sunday church high experience to fuel you, or are you in the process, turning over every decision, circumstance, area of your life to let it develop you?  I loved what Pastor Hayden shared with us while he filled in for my husband Sunday.  He said our faith is real and living when we discipline our daily decisions.  That’s the whole enchilada, people.  Turning it all over to Him to is what changes us from the inside out.

I so want you to find your spiritual high.  My prayer for you today is that you find it and it soars you to heights you’ve only ever imagined!

“But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, They run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.” Isaiah 40:31 MSG
4 thoughts on “High Flyin’

  1. I absolutely enjoyed reading this! I feel the same way about my daughter Emily. i hope this youth trip is spiritually, emotionally, socially, and psychologically a huge growing experience! What a great idea to send letters with Mckenna to read while there. Wish i had thought of that one!

  2. Great post!! I love that you wrote her letters to encourage her! So special!! I recently talked to my children about this same topic…being yourself… who GOD CREATED you to be, and living out his purpose for your life!! We talked about how David couldn’t use Saul’s armor or war tactics… he had to face the giant by being confident of who he was, and the gifts/skills God had given him. I also shared Ephesians 2:10 and encouraged them to memorize it… I think I got more out of the lesson than they did!! 🙂 Thanks for this reminder today, and your encouragement as my friend! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

