Sunday Rewind

Here we are, on the brink again, of a time of change at LifeSong Church.  It’s exciting, scary and chocked full of huge expectations!  For me, personally, I keep having these out of body experiences where I’m back in the living room of my home with about 25 people dreaming of the day when we would grand open a new building because we outgrew the old one.  Well, here we are, and yet my mind is drawn to those simple days where the foundation was laid about which kind of church we would be.  As I hear the echo of the words, “Be missionaries where you live, work and play” and “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength” I see that the number of people may have grown, but the heartbeat of who we are has remained the same.

Over the past couple of weeks, my husband has recast the vision…reminded us of what matters most, and yesterday’s message encapsulated the core of who we are and who we must be.  We must be a people whose understand the desperation of reaching the lost (the Precious), have huge expectations and a hope for eternity that are driving us.  We cannot put off today and say, “One day I’ll do what God is calling me to do.”  Today is the day…”What you do now matters forever.”  We must be ready.  Our lamps must be burning and our waists must be girded – prepared for the immense responsibility of loving people TO Jesus!  Our mindset must depart from believing we are doing anything FOR Jesus, and arrive in the reality that what we do is WITH Him.  Are you walking through life believing you HAVE to do all of this FOR Him? How does your outlook change when you walk WITH Him?  I love the picture this plays out in my mind – walking hand in hand alongside my Strength.  How much more satisfying to say, “Who am I, Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that YOU have brought me this far?” (2 Samuel 7:18b).

Leave a Reply

