The Crud

In my neck of the woods, when we’ve got the headache, sniffles, and runny nose we call it the “crud.”  We take the necessary precautions to get over it – meds, rest, lots of fluids, but unfortunately you just have to keep rolling with it.  Gotta work, gotta take care of the kids, gotta live life!  It stinks to not be able to lock ourselves in a room and never come out until we’re over it, but “ya gots to do what ya gots to do”.

I’m finding more and more that many are approaching their walk with God like the “crud”.  They want to just basically stop living until they get over their little funk, blah times in their journey with God.  They’ll distance yourself from others, stop serving where God put them, and attempt to suspend time until they get over it. Stop living under the guise of “waiting on a word from God.”  Have you been there? I have.  I’m totally driven toward being a quitter, because when I quit living for a little bit, I’ve rationalized (in my mind) that it’s giving me a blank slate to get a do-over, start fresh.  That’s great…sometimes…but really not the example of how Jesus lived life.  He’s told us…

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

He doesn’t say, “Stop living and come get me when you’re ready to live again.”  He says, “Let me take the load off.  Let me be your strength to make it through the day.”  He even gave us the example.  He never stopped loving people when people just…well, they didn’t love Him.  In the face of persecution, ridicule, extreme fatigue and a host of other oppositions, Christ walked through it…not around it.  Be encouraged today…you are NOT alone.  Others have walked through the crud, too.  Hey, I’ve walked through it, and you know…I’d have it NO other way.  Walking through it showed me God’s strength that He could still use me, despite my funk, to love others…to lead them…to relate to them. It’s those very steps by which I walked out of it! You see, when others are going through stuff, they want to know you can relate – that when you say you know what they are going through, you really do know what you’re talking about.  Listen, I’ve had every reason in this world to just stop serving…to stop loving.  Did I? No, I really didn’t.  I chose to walk through it, and by walking through it I allowed God to shape me.

What are you dealing with today? Are you suffering from the crud? How are you handling it? Follow our best Example.  He never gave up, and now He never gives up on YOU!

2 thoughts on “The Crud

  1. This is so very good! I think God had you write this for me today. This totally describes how I’ve been living lately…pulling back, doing nothing, waiting for this season to pass…when I really should be finding my rest in Christ and remembering that the JOY of the LORD is my strength. The Crud is contagious, too…no wonder my kids and husband have been listless and apathetic towards life right now. Time to get up and start living again! So glad He never gives up on me!

Leave a Reply

