Hidden Talents

My husband and I are pretty much an open book.  If you know us, you pretty much know, “what ya see is what ya get”.  Few people know, however, my husband has a hidden talent or two, but the most frequent  I get to witness is his singing ability.  He is known to bust out in song…BUT not just any song! He is the master of impersonation! He can literally sound like whomever he hears on the radio.  I dated him for months before I realized any of this.  I distinctly remember us riding down the road when Garth Brooks came on the radio, when all of a sudden Garth was IN THE CAR with me!! As Jeff busted out “The Thunder Rolls,” I just stared in amazement! If only he had the cowboy hat, he could’ve been Garth!  Little did I know that he had a host of characters and performers he could impersonate…any Barney fans out there? Scooby Doo? You could totally hire my husband for your child’s birthday party.  Our kids have been entertained for hours thanks to their Daddy’s hidden talents!

As I drove down the road yesterday listening to – you got it – Garth on the radio (we are on a country music kick at our house right now), I laughed out loud because I could almost hear Jeff joining in had he been with me.  As silly as his hidden talent is, it’s given me constant joy and always puts a smile on my face.  It got me thinking, though, how often we hold back our own gifts and talents (there’s a difference between the two, by the way) out of fear, believing they’re unimportant, or not worthy enough to impact anyone’s life.  So much truth from God’s word began to roll around in my head and heart about how God has gifted everyone of us to make up The Body of Christ, and how He has gifted us uniquely to serve Him (I Corinthians 12).

“Each person is given something to do that shows who God is: Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits. All kinds of things are handed out by the Spirit, and to all kinds of people!” I Corinthians 12:7 MSG

I love that “everyone gets in on it” because that, indeed implies…EVERYONE gets in on it!  No option given for hidden gifts – or talents, for that matter.  If you read on down in I Corinthians, which I encourage you to do, you’ll see just how vital it is that you don’t hide those things in which God has gifted you…especially as it pertains to the Body functioning as He intended.

“You are Christ’s body-that’s who you are! You must never forget this. Only as you accept your part of that body does your “part” mean anything.” I Corinthians 12:27 MSG

Hey! There’s the key!  Accept who you are. Be who you are.  Let me say that again…BE who you are!  Only you can do that, and when you take hold of that to which God has gifted you, watch out! He will use you to be a part of something much bigger than yourself! You’ll be a key player to seeing God change the world!

So, what are your hidden talents? Which gifts are you hiding? What’s stopping you?

My hidden talent is goofy.  I can play the trumpet…without the trumpet! It’s a talent that my Dad and my middle sister both have, too.  We can sound just like a trumpet by blowing through our mouth.  The bright side? Jeff and I can now have our own band! The downside? I think most may be OK with me keeping my talent to myself!

2 thoughts on “Hidden Talents

Leave a Reply

