Sunday Rewind

This past week I received a message from a new friend. She told me how she had read my last blog about our Grand Opening at LifeSong and was rejoicing with us over how God moved that particular day.  She added that she was especially praying that the enemy would stay out of this time in our lives, as the enemy often seeks to try and show up in the lives of those that serve the Father.  This I know to be extremely true.  Satan makes every attempt to discourage and distract when our hearts are turned toward God.  He seeks to get us off course.  This was so evident in our 11am service yesterday.  I laugh almost every time I am witness to the enemy’s attempt to pull the “technical difficulty” card because it, quite frankly, never works to stop us.  It fuels us to NOT shut up.  Try as he may, a dead battery in my husband’s mic does not stop the message from going forth.  People heard a life-changing message irregardless of attempts made to stop it.  In light of the big picture, a dead mic is a small thing, but that’s how the enemy rolls, isn’t it?  He weasels in and pops his ugly head up with childish games, and often we allow it to work, don’t we? We let it throw us off course.

As my husband preached week two of “Change,” he spoke of the need to change “The Heart.”  If I had to sum up the day in a nutshell, the challenge to live every, single moment of life WITH Jesus, rather than a part from Him, or only half living it with Him makes the difference.  The difference in the heart is never made in how much we know…all the knowledge we can acquire…but rather in turning over every part of our heart TO Him.  He’s not asking us to jump through hoops, but he instead offers us redemption, renewal, and refreshes us.  Each part of the roads we walk, the journeys we take He’s got it in His control.  The question is why we live at an arm’s length’s distance when He says to us, “I’ve got this! Give it to me.  Let me take it.”  He told us in Ezekial 36:26, “I’ll give you a new heart, put a new spirit in you.  I’ll remove the stone heart from your body and replace it with a heart that’s God-willed, not self-willed. 27 I’ll put my Spirit in you and make it possible for you to do what I tell you and live by my commands.” Whew! What a relief that we don’t have to do life on our own will.  He’s promised us this…”That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.”  There’s nothing to fear when we turn it (our heart) over to God.  We must stop saying, “Someday I’ll give it to you.”  Today is the day.  There’s never  a better day to give Him your heart than right now.  He pumps life into our hearts and makes us really LIVE.  Change is hard, but there’s no life without it.

One thought on “Sunday Rewind

  1. Pingback: Guest Post From Amy Hickman « jefferyhickman

Leave a Reply

