Crush It

As I sit here having an “Amy” day, I’ve pretty much covered every music genre on my Spotify as I clean and catch up on projects.  I’m partial to the 80s, of course! What other music is there, really?  It brought back a flood of memories for me.  I’m very much that girl that hears a song and can remember every word, where I was when it was popular and what I was wearing!  I read this on Pinterest this week and it so fits me…”Remembering the words to every 80s song, but forgetting why you walked into a room.” Umm, yeah! That’s me!

As I’ve been reminiscing today, I remembered the time the guy I was dating, along with another of our friends, destroyed all of their cassette tapes (remember, those?).  They destroyed them by rolling the car over them, and over them again, and over them AGAIN! I guess if boys are gonna make a statement, they’ve got to do something that involves crushing, blowing things up or breaking something.  They were both very intent on destroying this thing in their lives that was not exactly filling their minds with God, but rather served as a distraction.

This past Sunday at LifeSong my husband spoke candidly about WORRY in our lives.  We worry about everything from what we’ll eat for dinner, if someone likes us, whether or not we can pay the bills this month, or if we, and even our kids, will get sick and die.  Worry causes stress and stress causes illness, depression and even leads to death.  More bluntly put, though, worry is sin.  It takes our focus off a God who has promised to provide for our every need and function as though we are in control.  It is a huge distraction from the potential God sees in us to become more…to do more.  I cannot get over the many people that put their foot down to tackling worry in their lives this past Sunday.  The response certainly indicates this worry thing has got a huge grip on a lot of us, myself included.  The Message version of Matthew 6:25-33 even uses the word “fussing” when talking about worry.  We “fuss” about what we’ll wear, eat, live and the HOW of it all! It’s draining! Why does God want that we’re worry free? Number one…He’s got this! We don’t have to take it on our shoulders.  Number 2…He says in Matthew 6:31, “What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving.” Giving changes our focus…takes it off of us and places it directly on Him!  We’ve committed, at LifeSong, to memorize v. 33 of this same chapter…

“Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all of these things will be added unto you.” Matthew 6:33

In the Message it says, “Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

Wow! Thank goodness it doesn’t say steep your life in these things when we think God’s not paying attention.  Plain and simple, He’s saying, “Stop worrying!”  He will always meet our needs.  Are you losing sleep over worry?  Just let it go! You might be saying, “Yeah, right. It’s not that easy.”  It may be hard, but I promise you, it will be worth it!  Much like the guy I dated in high school, you might just have to crush it! Nothing ever gets crushed being allowed to remain idle.  Get up, start the engine and roll over it! The full life is waiting on you! You can watch the message from Sunday here LifeSong

Leave a Reply

