When What We Carry Is Heavy

Yesterday I added a new to me app on my phone, “Timehop”.  It’s description is billed to send me a post everyday of what I posted a year or more ago on any of my social media sites.  I love looking back on what I was doing when, so I hit download and remembered.  Jeff and I smiled as I showed him a picture of a trip our family took to the movies this time last year, as well as other posts that dated even further back of Father’s Days he had celebrated, or how we celebrated that day at LifeSong.

 Sometimes it feels so good to remember. 

Yesterday, I also found myself digging into my hardcopy journals, as well as digital journals I keep.  I was searching to hear from God about some things.  For awhile now, I’ve been praying for healing in my life regarding some health issues.  I’ve shared this with some, and for most, I’ve kept it very private. I’ve had to learn over the last year that I can believe people truly do care and they will even pray for me if I ask.  The role of being a receiver is hard for me.  I would rather be a giver.  So, on one hand, I’ve seen God move me from one place of struggling to trust others to opening myself up more, but at the heart of dealing with my health…of believing that when God spoke to pray for healing that I do it with complete and utter trust…it’s the “complete and utter trust” part that I’ve got some work to do!

Sometimes it is hard to remember.

In Joshua 4:1-24 , right after the nation of Israel had crossed the Jordan, God told Joshua to take 12 men, representing the 12 tribes of Israel, and give them each a stone to carry to the middle of the Jordan, where the Chest of the Covenant stopped the flow of the Jordan.  He did as God told him and the priests stood at the Chest of the Covenant as the tribes passed by, and they stood there until the priests crossed with the Chest of Testimony, and even until the last priests take the Chest of the Covenant onto dry land.  When they stepped on dry land, the waters resumed…also the same as saying, when Joshua had done all God told him to do only then did the waters resume.  God made Joshua great in the sight of the people of Israel that day…just as Moses had been. “Israel crossed over this Jordan on dry ground”.  The stones each tribe carried were set up at Gilgal in order that the people never forget.  They would never forget every detail – the struggle, the times of obedience, the times of disobedience – ALL of it.

“Yes, God, your God, dried up the Jordan’s waters for you until you had crossed, just as God, your God, did at the Red Sea, which had dried up before us until we had crossed. This was so that everybody on earth would recognize how strong God’s rescuing hand is and so that you would hold God in solemn reverence always.”Joshua 4:24 (MSG)

That day held great rejoicing.  What strikes me is how important it is to remember our own journey – ALL of it – as we walk it.  As I read this passage, I am struck by how even the act of setting up a place of remembrance depicts our own struggles and victories.  To construct a place of remembrance it took time, took strength to carry the stone and most of all it took listening to God – and in this case God’s man, Joshua.  How like our own hard times! And then we walk through it all and we get to remember.  So, as I read back over my journals yesterday, there was certainly pain in remembering, because the truth is, God has not chosen to physically heal me.  I, in most regards, am still praying the very same prayers of a year ago, and I’m very much still struggling to listen.  I want to one day arrive at a place that I’m remembering the VICTORY, because I believe that one day will come that God will ultimately heal me.  I don’t want to miss a thing.  Maybe you are going through a heavy time in your own life, and the pain of remembering seems too much.  Let me encourage you today…the pain of NOT remembering is worse.  Let God take you to that place where most times is the ONLY place we get to see the MOST of Him.  In the struggle He is there!  In the struggle you will find He will give you strength. Go to that place of remembrance today so that you would hold God in solemn reverence always. God made Joshua great that day in the sight of the people, but oh how Joshua made GOD great that day, too! Dig deep, friend, and go through it and make HIS name a great NAME to all!

Leave a Reply

