Unsettled

Just this week I was talking with a missionary kid friend of mine about how much we’ve both moved over the course of our lives.   This same friend recently bought a house and she said she had never even unpacked the boxes from the previous house they had sold, because she always had a sense of that internal clock ticking that another move was on the horizon.  It seems as soon as we’ve settled into a new place, it was time to move again. As a kid, and even adult, my moves have been so frequent that I could totally relate to the sense that time always comes to a close…or so it seems.  Jeff and I have lived in our current home longer than we’ve lived anywhere else and I constantly find myself anticipating an upheaval of our lives.  It makes me feel like I’m a little on the edge of something changing ALL THE TIME! It often makes me keep everyone and everything at an arm’s length distance.

I haven’t moved anywhere lately, but in the deep parts of my heart, it’s as if it’s packed up and moved on, or checked out completely. Even in very good things in our lives, which is how I’d even describe things for me lately, we can feel very defeated, uncertain, overwhelmed and a bunch of other adjectives. Instead of completely committing ourselves to what God has laid out for us, we live as if He will change His mind or find someone else better to do it. That unsettled part of our hearts can cause us to miss out on God’s ultimate best for us, but in some ways it can also cause us to take pause and really listen to what He’s trying to say to us.  Jeff and I have often talked about how before each move, huge change or calling on our lives, we’ve felt unsettled, or restless.  We sensed within that time that God was waving his arms wildly saying, “Hey! Pay attention! I have something big coming up for you two!”  Psalm 118:5 says,

When hard pressed, I cried to the Lord; he brought me into a spacious place. 

My unsettled heart has often ended up with a front seat to God’s goodness!  I am a person that loves, and even craves change, but getting me to that place often requires a little extra “Hey you” from God.  Much like all of my physical moves from place to place, my heart has walked that same path.  Hard situations have come into my life and caused me to really listen to the voice of God.  Times of uncertainty over God’s plan for my life have taken me to a place of searching His face for answers.  When I am weary and tired from even doing really good things, He has, and continues to quiet my heart with words of peace.  Sunday, I woke up feeling defeated, alone and crying out for God to speak to me.  God sent one of my dearest friends, who knew nothing of the unsettledness of my heart, to speak words of life over me.  I pray these verses do the same for you, my friend.  The one thing God has taken and made clear to this person with a title of “MINISTRY” over her head is that we have enough people telling us how we should feel in Christ, but rarely do we have people saying, “I don’t have it all together either. Let’s walk this road TOGETHER, toward the One who does!” That is what I’m saying to you today.  You are not alone.  His word is life to me.  It is brings everything in my unsettled heart to a place of rest and I cannot help but share my hope with you.

My sacrifice, O God, is a broken spirit;
a broken and contrite heart
you, God, will not despise. Psalm 51:17
 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28,29

 An unsettled heart is only useless when you prohibit God from making it useful.  He writes your story into something beautiful…TELL your story!

 

Leave a Reply

