Yet

“Yet”. Three letters that hold so much weight in our lives. We’ve all met those people that make the “yet” real to us. We’ve talked about them in our homes, in our workplaces. We’ve been in awe of them, even saying we could never BE one of them…that is until we are, and even then we know it’s because Someone much bigger than ourselves has become our “yet”. For me, it has almost happened by surprise, but also with great intention. The teachers always teach and the preachers always preach “be consistent” and “do not give up,” but for me it’s been in the giving up that I’ve found my”yet”. The giving up of what? Why myself, of course. It doesn’t matter as much the “how” I got there, but it is the “I got there” that has changed me. Granted I may have to wake up and get there again, but for now living in physical woes, or thoughts of being a failure, or not making a difference, and not even always getting it right…they pale in comparison of “yet I will rejoice in the Lord”. I wanna live in that. I wanna rest there. There’s peace there. It’s a hard thing to have peace when our worlds crash around us, but it takes day after day to form a habit, and I want my habit to be praise. He never leaves me alone. He really is always there. When the cards are stacked against us, can we still praise? “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights. For the director of music. On my stringed instruments.” (Habakkuk 3:17-19 NIV)

Leave a Reply

