Shari

Today, you have the honor of hearing from Shari. Shari is also one of my staff wives at LifeSong. She is the youngest one of us, but she is so full of wisdom, so gifted and talented that I find myself learning more from her than I probably ever teach her! 🙂 One of my favorite things about Shari is watching her lead as part of our worship team.  Her humility completely radiates from her and I always find myself in awe of who God is as a result of the beautiful smile that is always on her face. I love having a front row seat to see all that God is shaping her to be.  Today, I pray that her words will touch you as they have touched me…

Gratitude. Being thankful. When I first think about being gratitude, I think of moments when someone has done something special for me. Times when a friend has surprised me with coffee or let me cry on their shoulder. These were definitely moments that led me to say a well deserved, “thank you.” Those friends mean more to me than I could put into a blog post, but I am learning that gratitude is not just about moments. It is apart of how we live our life.

A few weeks ago I was having a very long Tuesday. On Tuesdays, because of my schedule, my husband and I usually only communicate through text messages and maybe a phone call. I leave the house around 8am and don’t get home until around 9:30pm. Unfortunately, this type of communication more easily lends itself to bickering. Nothing had gone terribly wrong, just typical life stuff. About 2 hours before I got to head home, I ran into a family friend whose husband had recently passed away. We were just catching up on some things and she mentioned her late husband. Suddenly, all the tiny things from that day that I had let frustrate me faded away.  I was grateful for the ability to text my husband. I was grateful for the ability to come to home to him, even if we would only see each other for 5 minutes before falling asleep. I was even grateful for the chance to bicker with him! I called him on the way home from work and said, “Thank you for arguing with me today!”

The point of this is not to say, “Lucky me! I’m married!” The point is that true gratitude is in knowing that everything we have is a gift from God. When you see life that way, every day is filled with gratitude. Even long Tuesdays are filled gratitude. It’s not just moments that are made special by amazing friends and surprises. It is so easy for me to forget this. It’s hard to live a life of gratitude. We want big grand moments and can get pouty or selfish when we don’t get them. But even the small moments are beautiful gifts from God. It shouldn’t take us losing those moments to see that.

The truth is, the very life we have is a gift. The chance to live with freedom and joy is a gift that we choose to accept or ignore. God made it possible for us to live this way, not only by creating us and giving us breath in our lungs but by giving us his son on the cross. We can choose to ignore what he has done for us, or we can live in gratitude of Jesus dying on the cross for us. When we live a life of daily gratitude, we recognize that this life we have is not our own. It is an opportunity to bring glory to our Savior.  For me, gratitude is taking the time to see the good amidst all the brokenness in this world.

 

shari
My name is Shari. I love to spend my time reading, writing, drinking coffee, playing in the woods, making up songs, and hanging out with my awesome nephews. I am married to a wonderful man named Robin, who serves as a creative arts pastor. I am a full time seminary student studying Intercultural Studies, and I work a random collection of part-time jobs. I am most passionate about helping followers of Christ become the hands and feet of Jesus.
One thought on “Shari

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart with us. It’s so easy to get caught up in the day to day things of life that we forget to be thankful for all God has blessed us with. Even in the small moments, we need to remember how much He loves us.

Leave a Reply

