Wherever He Leads I’ll Go

It’s been one of my favorite hymns as long as I can remember.”Wherever He Leads I’ll Go.” Because I’ve lived it, I’ve loved the words, and the challenge that tugs within my heart each time I hear it. When my parents moved our family overseas as missionaries, I was angry. I didn’t want to leave the comfort of my home, my country, my friends. Only 10 years old when we embarked on so many changes, my little heart didn’t understand the impact going would make in anyone else’s life. I only understood the change it was making in my own. Years of discontentment followed. I didn’t care that others could know more about Jesus because we went. I honestly only cared that what I wanted my life to be like would never be. It’s so often the difficult and the unfamiliar that end up being exactly where we are supposed to be. Those things that take us out of our comfort zone end up being that which is the most beautiful parts of our lives. This was me. How could I go from being a 10 year old to a 16 year old that had any purpose from going? The going was all about my parents, right? God tells us that “all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” (Psalm 139:16) Not for my parents, but they were written for ME. My journey will not look like yours, nor yours like mine, but the constant is that God is leading…if I choose to let Him. Part of that old hymn I love says,”He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know…,”words that often get lost in their intent, but the MOST important words we could know! I cannot go, know His plan, follow His will until I draw close to Him. When I draw close to Him, I still may not understand just where it is He is taking me, but I KNOW He is the One with whom I am going! Uncertainty about my path can be filled with so many unknowns, so many insecurities, leaving me questioning,”Does God even want to use me at all?” The answer is always “Yes”. He says,”When you go with me, there will always be LIFE to be lived!” Not sure today where He is leading? Not sure you’re even a part of His plan? Follow the words of the hymn…”Take up your cross and follow Him.”

Leave a Reply

